Back to all news stories

Advisory committee named in search for new UMMA director

By Jill A. Greenberg

Artist Mary Mattingly pushing a sculpture of her personal belongings at the Port Newark Container Terminal. Photo courtesy ART21.

The search for the next University of Michigan Museum of Art director is underway with the selection of the search advisory committee.

The search advisory committee is co-chaired by Julia Darlow and Carol Fierke. Darlow is regent emerita and a member of the UMMA National Leadership Council. Fierke serves as the dean of the Rackham Graduate School and vice provost for academic affairs — graduate studies. She is the Jerome and Isabella Karle Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry and professor of biological chemistry in the Medical School.

The committee, appointed by Martha E. Pollack, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, is charged with conducting a national search and presenting a slate of recommended candidates.

Joe Rosa stepped down as director of the UMMA on Sept. 30, after six years of service, to become director of the Frye Art Museum in Seattle.

Additional members of the search advisory committee are:

• Philip Deloria, Carroll Smith-Rosenberg Collegiate Professor of History and American Culture, professor of history and American culture, LSA; and professor of environment, LSA and School of Natural Resources and Environment.

• Maxine Frankel, UMMA National Leadership Council member and chair.

• Dr. Timothy Johnson, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children; chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, professor of obstetricians and gynecology, Medical School; director, National Center of Excellence in Women’s Health, Von Voigtlander Women’s Hospital; professor of women’s studies, LSA; research professor, Center for Human Growth and Development; and faculty associate, GLOBAL REACH.

• Allison Martino, graduate student, History of Art, LSA; UMMA Andrew W. Mellon Curatorial Fellow 2016-17.

• Jerry May, vice president for development.

• Guna Nadarajan, dean and professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design; UMMA Executive Committee.

• Franc Nunoo-Quarcoo, professor of art and design, Stamps School; and faculty affiliate, Museum Studies Program, Rackham Graduate School.

• Shannon Palmer, undergraduate LSA student, UMMA Student Engagement Council member and UMMA program assistant.

• Alex Potts, Max Loehr Collegiate Professor of the History of Art, LSA; UMMA Executive Committee member.

• Ruth Slavin, deputy director for education, UMMA.

• Irving Stenn Jr., UMMA National Leadership Council member.

• Carrie Throm, deputy director, development and external relations, UMMA.

• Trish Turner, UMMA National Leadership Council member.

Pollack said under Rosa’s leadership, “UMMA’s mission to bridge visual art and contemporary culture, scholarship and accessibility, and tradition and innovation was realized in new and exciting ways.

“Rosa has led UMMA to enable encounters with art that ignite creativity and forge connections across diverse disciplines, geographies and cultures. With his gracious and engaging leadership, he will be missed.”