New director of U-M Museum of Art announces open office hours | Arts & Culture

New director of U-M Museum of Art announces open office hours

New director of U-M Museum of Art announces open office hours

Christina Olsen, director of the U-M Museum of Art, chats with a student during her open office hours. Photo by Dave Lawrence.

Christina Olsen, director of the University of Michigan Museum of Art (UMMA), wants to chat.

Olsen, now a little more than two months into her term, will host open office hours in the UMMA Commons in February, March and April. She is inviting visitors, community members and U-M staff, faculty and students to drop in and talk one-on-one about the museum, ways it might change, and to ask questions.

“I want to hear from the people that care about this museum and who want to shape its future,” Olsen said. “UMMA needs to be open to new ideas. A great way to get new ideas is by talking with people face to face.”

Open office hours dates and times include:

Monday, Feb. 5, Noon-1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 6, 4-5 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 12, Noon-1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 13, 4-5 p.m.

Monday, March 5, Noon-1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 6, 4-5 p.m.
Monday, March 12, Noon-1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 13, 4-5 p.m.

Monday, April 2, Noon-1 p.m.
Tuesday, April 3, 4-5 p.m.
Monday, April 9, Noon-1 p.m.
Tuesday, April 10, 4-5 p.m.

Christina Olsen, director of the U-M Museum of Art, will host open office hours in February, March and April. Photo by Dave Lawrence.

Christina Olsen, director of the U-M Museum of Art, will host open office hours in February, March and April. Photo by Dave Lawrence.

Olsen will talk with visitors on a first-come, first-served basis. Visitors should queue near the director’s table in the UMMA Commons.

Olsen started her tenure at UMMA Oct. 30, 2017, and was previously the director of the Williams College Museum of Art. In her first year, Olsen plans to present ambitious exhibitions centered on today’s issues, take a fresh look at UMMA’s galleries and public spaces, and unveil a new installation focused on abstraction and race in the early 1970s.